Group of people reading news


Aurecon goes external with global excellence awards programme

2015 Aurecon Awards

Celebrating eminence, innovation and Aurecon values.

19 May 2015 - Traditionally an internal programme, in 2015, the Aurecon Awards will be shared with external audiences via the company’s digital and social media platforms. The programme launches in May with a shortlist of competing projects expected in mid June.

Now in its fifth year, the Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding team achievements in award categories that are aligned to Aurecon’s core values of: client service excellence, innovation, collaboration and diversity, safety, and benefits to communities and environments.

“Every day our people and teams contribute their smarts to projects of eminence and industry renown around the world,” comments Global Chief Executive Officer, Giam Swiegers.

“Sharing the Aurecon Awards with the broader industry and public is a fantastic way to recognise and celebrate the successes Aurecon has achieved in collaboration with our clients and project partners.”

To participate in the programme, entrants must prepare a comprehensive tender-style submission directly responding to six judging criteria that require project teams to articulate and demonstrate how their project epitomises Aurecon’s core values.

The programme’s strict submission requirements are designed to generate and foster the very best thinking, innovation, team work, client, project and community outcomes Aurecon has achieved and has to offer.

“It’s such a privilege to learn about the superb projects and clever solutions our people and teams are delivering across the business,” comments 2015 Aurecon Awards Chair, Professor Kourosh Kayvani.

“The Aurecon Awards give us all an opportunity to reflect and take pride in what we’ve achieved as a business and what we’ve contributed to the benefit of the communities and environments we work in.”

The Awards are adjudicated by a select panel of Aurecon leaders spanning Australia, China, New Zealand, South Africa and the Middle East. In addition to the Aurecon Awards Judging Panel, entrants will, for the first time, be assessed by their peers for the inaugural People’s Choice Award category this year.

The programme receives on average over 80 submissions per year that represent diversity across geographies, markets and expertise. Of this highly competitive field, only one project per award category is selected as a winner.

“In previous years we’ve had huge scale projects with sizeable resources and budgets win category awards. In other years we’ve had small, highly niche projects take out top honours.

Winning teams are those that can clearly articulate the value proposition and benefits of their projects irrespective of who their client was; the size and/or location of the project, its budget or its resources,” adds Professor Kayvani.

The Awards highest and most meritorious accolade, The Professor Jakes Gerwel Award, is awarded to one of the five category winning projects following a series of rigorous presentations category award winning teams are invited to share with to the Judging Panel.

The overall programme award is named in honour of Aurecon’s inaugural Global Chairman, Professor GJ (Jakes) Gerwel, who passed away in 2012. The award represents Jakes' spirit of making impactful, meaningful, visionary changes for the better of all communities.

“We are delighted to share the Aurecon Awards with the public and look forward to everyone getting involved in what is a proud initiative for our business,” concludes Swiegers.

Keep up to date with the programme by visiting Aurecon’s LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook pages.

Unfortunately, you are using a web browser that Aurecon does not support.

Please change your browser to one of the options below to improve your experience.

Supported browsers:

To top