Group of people reading news


Aurecon wins award for planning future Tasmanian communities


East coast of Tasmania

23 March 2011 - In early March, Aurecon Planners were awarded a National Commendation at the Planning Institute of Australia’s National Congress Awards for their work on a key Tasmanian project known as “Vision East 2030”.

Within the category of Rural and Regional Planning, the award recognises planning documents, reports, schemes or projects making an outstanding contribution to current regional or rural planning practice.

“This project centred on creating an improved quality of life for residents in four municipalities along Tasmania’s East Coast,” said Paul Jemmeson of Victoria’s Planning team. “The aim of the project was to create a strategic plan and establish concise and clear set of principles for future land use planning within these areas.”

The Vision East 2030 project is considered to be strategically important to Tasmania’s East Coast communities, as it addresses areas of common interest and develops shared visions for the region’s sustainable development.

Aurecon’s structure plan forms the basis for detailed planning principles to manage urban growth and development patterns, minimise environmental impacts from economic development, increase local job opportunities and integrate social change to meet unique community demographic.

The special commendation recognised the concise and clear set of principles which when implemented will assist in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life on the east coast of Tasmania. In selecting the project, the judges commented that, “the report represents an important initiative in regional planning in Tasmania.”

Vision East 2030 was formed in consultation with stakeholder, community and council participation and is based on four key principles - settlement, environment and heritage, resource utilisation, and linkages and services. The study explores sustainable approach to economic development, investment in service infrastructure for easier access to the region while preserving its natural and heritage assets.

The east coast of Tasmania includes the stunning Bay of Fires, St Helen – Tasmania’s game fishing capital and Mount William National Park.

Unfortunately, you are using a web browser that Aurecon does not support.

Please change your browser to one of the options below to improve your experience.

Supported browsers:

To top